The developers of instant messaging service Snapchat were recently accused of data abuse after several cases of privacy violations came to light. These incidents mainly involved spying on users by the service’s employees. Not very good news, is it? And maybe even a reason to think about leaving the social network once and for all. In the end, though, it doesn’t matter why you decide or have already decided to delete the messaging service from your life. In the following article, you will learn more about how you can delete your account on the platform.
To back up your Snapchat data
Before deleting your Snapchat account, you’ll probably want to back up all the important photos and videos you’ve shared over time and possibly other information related to your social media activities. Unfortunately, Snapchat doesn’t offer the ability to download all the information you want in one step. That’s why you’re going to see all the options and alternatives that Snapchat offers.
1. Set up Snap and Story backups
By default, Snapchat does not store your data and videos. For example, a snap you send to a friend disappears as soon as it is viewed. If you post a story, it will be deleted within 24 hours with no way to restore it afterwards. If you are toying with the idea of leaving the social network, you may not want to give up copies of your available posts. To do this, simply enable the Memories feature, which allows you to store snapshots on your camera roll device or in the cloud memories Snapshots of personal chats must be saved individually each time.
2. Uploading photos and videos from Memories
If you want to leave Snapchat easily, but have only stored your snaps in Memories, you can simply upload your favorite photos. On iOS devices, this is done in one go. Android users need to download the snaps individually.
3. Contact support
If you are interested in more than just your photos, you can contact Snapchat support and ask for all the information available to the service. For example: the history of detected tracks, photos and videos you have stored in memories, etc. The support team will receive your request and provide you with all the requested data.
4. All data as a ZIP archive
If you want to have a history of your activity on Snapchat, a list of your chats, connections, etc., you can request a ZIP archive. Then the following data will be made available to you. All this data and information will be sent to you in the form of a ZIP file, which you can keep as a souvenir. To do this, your account must be linked to an email address. If you have not already done so. If your email address is already associated with your account, you can request the archive without further delay. Here’s how it all works via the application
To request the file via the website
In both cases, a ZIP file will be sent to your confirmed email address in a very short time.
To delete your Snapchat account
After saving all the important data and information, you can now proceed to delete your account. Like many other social networks, Snapchat will first offer to temporarily deactivate your profile in case you change your mind. FYI: You cannot delete your Snapchat account from the app. This must be done via the website. Then, delete the app from your mobile devices and you’re done.
Restore a Snapchat account
You can restore your account within 30 days of deactivation. Just open the app and enter your username. The app will ask you to wait a few seconds and then log back in and that’s it. Your account is active again and all your data, including your profile, will be restored. While your account is deactivated, your Snapchat friends will not be able to see you in the app or send you messages. After 30 days, your profile will be permanently deleted, after which neither you nor any Snapchat staff member will be able to restore it.